Derbyshire’s Shan Masood was pinned for a three-ball duck by Stuart Broad of Nottinghamshire in a 2022 County Championship clash, but the lbw decision was questioned with replays suggesting that the ball was seemingly outside the line of the off-stump.
Masood, playing his debut Championship season, had been in rich touch for Derbyshire, with knocks of 91, 62, 239, 219, 60, 42, and 113 prior to the match against Nottinghamshire. The Pakistan batter entered the clash with the most runs in Division Two: 826 runs from seven innings, needing another 174 runs to become the tenth player in the history of the County Championship to score 1,000 runs before the end of May. He would also have become the first Pakistani player to make first-class 1,000 runs before May.
The equation reduced to 156 runs after he collected 18 in the first innings of the encounter at Trent Bridge.
The record, however, eluded him after he was ruled out lbw for a duck in the third ball of Derbyshire’s second innings off Broad, the first time in the 2022 County Championship he registered a score in single-digits. Broad went up in a celebrappeal after pinning the rival in front of the wickets, who was given out, but many have questioned the umpire’s decision, led by cricket writer Rob Johnston, who tweeted, “clearly outside the line, no?”
Derbyshire were all out for 260 in their first innings, with Broad picking up two wickets, while Nottinghamshire replied with 358 runs to take a 98-run lead.
Celebrappeal, umpire’s finger straight up and the batter basically walks
Clearly outside the line, no? https://t.co/eOCbYaENwb
— Rob Johnston (@RobJ_Cricket) May 21, 2022
Watch the contentious lbw dismissal by Broad off Masood here:
— England Cricket (@englandcricket) May 21, 2022