The independent voice of cricket

Bangladesh v England 2023

Bangladesh v England 2023 T20I squads: Full players list for BAN vs ENG T20Is

Bangladesh's head coach Chandika Hathurusingha talks to Taijul Islam and spin bowling coach Rangana Herath
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Bangladesh will host England for a three-match T20I series beginning on March 9 in Chattogram – here are the Bangladesh and England squads for the T20I series.

After the three ODIs, Bangladesh and England will play three T20Is, at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on March 9, then at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on March 12 and 14. All matches will begin at at 3 PM local time.

England have an excellent record in Bangladesh. Since 2014/15, they are the only side to have won a bilateral ODI series in the country – and they have done it twice, including an unassailable 2-0 lead in the ongoing ODI series.


The teams have met only once in the format, a surprisingly low count for two ICC Full Members. At Abu Dhabi in the 2021 T20 World Cup, Tymal Mills (3-27) and Liam Livingstone (2-15) helped England restrict Bangladesh to 124-9 before Jason Roy (61 in 38 balls) helped them win in 14.1 overs.

Shakib Al Hasan will lead Bangladesh, while the team will feature seniors like Litton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, and Taskin Ahmed.

England, the defending world champions, will be led by Jos Buttler, and will feature Jofra Archer, on his comeback trail, and Mark Wood, along with the youngsters, Will Jacks and the uncapped Rehan Ahmed. Sam Curran, Player of the Match in the World Cup final as well as the Player of the Tournament, is also part of the squad.

Bangladesh v England 2023 T20I squads: Full players list for BAN vs ENG T20Is

Bangladesh (first two T20Is): Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das (wk), Nurul Hasan (wk), Afif Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mustafizur Rahman, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Rony Talukdar, Shamim Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Towhid Hridoy.

England: Jos Buttler (c & wk), Phil Salt (wk), Jofra Archer, Mark Wood, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Rehan Ahmed, Reece Topley, Chris Woakes.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99