The independent voice of cricket

Bangladesh v Australia

Bangladesh v Australia 2021: Squads & team list for the BAN v AUS T20Is

Ban v Aus full squads
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Australia travel to Bangladesh for a five-match T20I series in August – here’s the full Ban & Aus squads and team lists.

Australia will meet Bangladesh in a bilateral T20I series for the first-ever time after four meetings spread across four different T20 World Cups in the format. Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Marcus Stoinis, Jhye Richardson and Kane Richardson, who missed the series against West Indies after withdrawing themselves, continue to remain outside the squad with Aaron Finch, who suffered a knee injury, ruled out of the Bangladesh series.

Australia retained players from the T20I series against West Indies for the Bangladesh tour with Finch’s replacement as skipper yet to be named. Alex Carey captained the ODI side in the series against West Indies, but is unlikely to lead the T20I side in the Bangladesh series.


Bangladesh, meanwhile, have seen a reduction in their squad from 20 to 17 players after Tamim Iqbal, who had a knee injury, and Mushfiqur Rahim, attending a family matter, missed the quarantine deadlines. Liton Das left the bio-bubble following a family matter, and will miss the series.

Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Mithun and Mosaddek Hossain were added from the ODI squad.

BAN v AUS: Full squads for Australia and Bangladesh

Australia squad for T20Is: Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Dan Christian, Riley Meredith, Ashton Turner, Jason Behrendorff.

Reserves: Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha.

Bangladesh T20I squad: Mahmudullah (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Mohammad Naim, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman (fitness permitting), Afif Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan.

Sign up to The Cricket Draft, powered by Wisden, an all-new, free-to-play fantasy game running alongside The Hundred, to win prizes and compete with your friends.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99