The independent voice of cricket

Australia Women v Pakistan Women

Watch: Pakistan batter pulls out of shot after ball is delivered in Australia ODI, gets bowled, stays not out

Pakistan's Nida Dar pulled out of her stance "very late"
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Watch: Pakistan Women’s Nida Dar’s “very late” pull-out from her batting stance in an ODI against Australia led to considerable debate, with many suggesting that she should have been given out by the umpire.

The incident occurred in the 27th delivery of Pakistan’s chase in the third ODI, in Sydney, with Dar facing Tahlia McGrath. McGrath ran in and bowled the fifth delivery of the over, but Dar pulled out from her stance as the delivery hurtled in and hit the stumps.

The timing of Dar’s moving away was debatable, with some feeling she had pulled out too late, after the ball had been delivered. The umpire, though, did not seem to have a problem with it, signalling a dead ball, and neither did the Australian team. McGrath sought clarification from the umpire, while captain Meg Lanning was not interested in going up in appeal.

“That is really late,” said the commentators on air.

According to clause of MCC’s Laws related to “Umpire calling and signalling Dead ball”, a dead ball will be signalled if “the striker is not ready for the delivery of the ball and, if the ball is delivered, makes no attempt to play it. Provided the umpire is satisfied that the striker had adequate reason for not being ready, the ball shall not count as one of the over.” Some suggested Dar was in her stance but did not realise how far into her run-up McGrath was, leading to her not being ready.

If Dar was initially ready to face the ball, before being distracted, law would come into play, whereby a dead ball will be signalled if: “the striker is distracted by any noise or movement or in any other way while preparing to receive, or receiving a delivery.”

Pakistan eventually fell well short of the target, losing by 101 runs to seal the series 3-0.

Rachael Haynes, former Australia captain, on Fox Cricket, said: “I was always under the impression that when you were in your stance and tapped your bat down, you were ready to accept the delivery. Nida Dar needs to be a bit careful there.”

Alex Blackwell, former Australia, cricketer, felt that Dar wasn’t at fault: “I thought that was fair; she didn’t see the ball.”

Watch the incident here:

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99