Wisden

The independent voice of cricket

LIVE SCORES
Australia v South Africa 2022/23

Watch: Controversial TV-umpire decision sees Labuschagne survive catch at slip

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Watch: Marnus Labuschagne survived a borderline third umpire call after he had been given out caught at slip on the field.

With the score at 130-1 and Labuschagne well set on 70, Marco Jansen slid a delivery across the right-hander who drove at the ball and edged it to Simon Harmer at slip.

Harmer reached low and claimed an excellent catch which the South Africans celebrated without question.

bet365

Labuschagne, however, stood his ground believing the ball may have bounced whilst wicketkeeper Kyle Verreyne signalled to the umpires and his teammates that it had carried.

The soft signal on the field was that it was indeed out and the review went up to third umpire Richard Kettleborough to make the final decision.

After several minutes of replays, it was eventually decided that the side-on angle showed that the ball was in contact with the ground with Harmer’s fingers not underneath the ball.

Before the final decision had been made, Labuschagne had returned to the batting crease and taken guard, confident that he would be given not out, whilst the South Africans were furious with the decision as captain Dean Elgar challenged the call with onfield umpires Chris Gaffaney and Paul Reiffel.

Bad light stopped play shortly after, but it is ominous signs for South Africa with Australia 138-1 and an in form Labuschagne still unbeaten on 73. Australia have an unassailable two-nil lead in the three-match series.

Watch: Labuschagne adjudged not out after TV review

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
LEARN MORE
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99

SUBSCRIBE