The independent voice of cricket

Australia v Pakistan 2023/24

AUS vs PAK Test 2023 squad: Full team lists for Australia v Pakistan Tests 2023

by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Australia will host Pakistan for a Test series from December 14. Here are the squads of both teams, including the full team lists for the AUS vs PAK Test series.

Pakistan made wholesale changes to their set-up after their group-stage exit from the 2023 World Cup. Shan Masood took over leadership of the Test side from Babar Azam, who stepped down as all-format captain last month. Prolific domestic run-scorer Saim Ayub earned his maiden Test call-up along with in-form pacer Khurram Shahzad, who ended the 2023-24 first-class season with the most wickets (36) at an average of 20.30 apiece.

Left-arm quick Mir Hamza also returned to the squad riding on the back of a terrific first-class season, where he emerged as the second-highest wicket-taker with 32 scalps at 20.87 apiece in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy. Fast-bowling all-rounder Faheem Ashraf is also in line for a Test comeback, having last played a Test match in December 2022. Naseem Shah continues to recover from a shoulder injury, while chief selector Wahab Riaz claimed Haris Rauf made himself unavailable for the series.


Australia, meanwhile, have only announced the squad for the curtain-raiser clash in Perth. Uncapped pacer Lance Morris received his maiden Test call up in the 14-member group. Renowned for clocking 150 kmph regularly, Morris took 11 wickets for Western Australia in three matches in the ongoing Sheffield Shield season. He will join the coveted pace arsenal comprising of skipper Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Scott Boland, while Nathan Lyon makes a comeback after recovering from a calf injury he sustained during the second Test of the 2023 Ashes.

In the batting department, the selections of Usman Khawaja, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith were no-brainers, with David Warner slated to play his farewell Test series at Sydney.

Australia vs Pakistan T20Is 2023 squad: Full team lists for AUS vs PAK T20Is 2023

Australia: (First Test only) Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Pakistan: Shan Masood (c), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99