The independent voice of cricket

Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup venues: Host countries for the Asia Cup in each edition | Asia Cup 2023

Dasun Shanaka with the Asia Cup 2022 trophy
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The 2023 Men’s Asia Cup is set to be hosted later this year in Pakistan. Here is the list of Asia Cup venues and host countries for every edition of the tournament.

There is still uncertainty over the 2023 Men’s Asia Cup being hosted in Pakistan in its entirety. Part of the tournament may even be played outside the nation.

However, the six teams that are set to feature in this tournament have been decided. The five ICC Full Members – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan – will be joined by tournament debutants Nepal.


The Asia Cup has been aligning its format with the next ICC event for some time. Keeping in tune with this year’s World Cup in India, the 2023 Asia Cup will be played in ODI format.

India, Pakistan, and Nepal have been pitted in Group A, and Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan in Group B. The top two teams from each group will proceed to the Super Four, from where the top two teams will qualify for the knockouts.

The Asia Cup began in 1984, soon after India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Malaysia, and Singapore had set up the Asian Cricket Council, the first regional organisation to host international cricket and generate profit without objection from any board or the ICC.

The first Asia Cup featured only India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. India opted out of the second, in Sri Lanka, but Bangladesh were invited. Bangladesh also hosted the 1988 edition, were invited to India in 1990 in Pakistan’s absence, and are the only nation to host five times as well as three consecutive editions, in 2012, 2014, and 2016.

Sri Lanka, meanwhile, are the only team to have featured in every edition of the tournament. They have hosted the Men’s Asia Cup four times, as have the UAE.

The ACC also launched the Women’s Asia Cup in 2004. The eight editions of the women’s version have been played across seven nations, including China, Thailand, and Malaysia.

Asia Cup venues: Host countries for the Asia Cup in each edition | Asia Cup 2023

Men’s Asia Cup

1984: UAE (no final)
1986: Sri Lanka (final: Colombo – SSC)
1988: Bangladesh (final: Dhaka)
1990/91: India (final: Calcutta)
1995: UAE (final: Sharjah)
1997: Sri Lanka (final: Colombo – Premadasa)
2000: Bangladesh (final: Dhaka)
2004: Sri Lanka (final: Colombo – Premadasa)
2008: Pakistan (final: Karachi)
2010: Sri Lanka (final: Dambulla)
2012: Bangladesh (final: Mirpur)
2014: Bangladesh (final: Mirpur)
2016: Bangladesh (final: Mirpur)
2018: UAE (final: Dubai)
2022: UAE (final: Dubai)

Women’s Asia Cup

2004: Sri Lanka (no final)
2005/06: Pakistan (final: Karachi)
2006: India (final: Jaipur)
2008: Sri Lanka (final: Kurunegala)
2012: China (final: Guangzhou)
2016: Thailand (final: Bangkok)
2018: Malaysia (final: Kuala Lumpur)
2022: Bangladesh (final: Sylhet)

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99