The independent voice of cricket

Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup 2022 squad: Full team lists, injury news and replacement updates

Asia Cup 2022 will begin on August 27
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The 2022 Asia Cup will begin on August 27, with Afghanistan locking horns with Sri Lanka – here is the full squad list for each side, along with injury updates and player replacement news in the Asia Cup.

India arrive at the competition as defending champions, having outwitted Bangladesh in the 2018 edition at the Dubai International Stadium. Rohit Sharma, who led the India team at that tournament, has since assumed full-time captaincy duties and would be looking to build on his stellar international leadership record.

Pakistan, who have not reached the final since 2014 and have only won the competition twice in their history, would be wanting to break out of their recent Asia Cup rut. Babar Azam will lead the Pakistan side and despite the absence of Shaheen Shah Afridi, they have enough quality to go deep into this edition.


Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, on the other hand, can be termed dark horses. None of them have been very consistent in the recent past. However, they have match-winners at their disposal, meaning that if they click into gear, they could cause India and Pakistan a few problems.

Group A comprises India, Pakistan and the winner of the Asia Cup 2022 Qualifiers. Group B, meanwhile, houses Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super Four stage, where every team will play each other. Those finishing in the top two will then contest the final on September 11 at the Dubai International Stadium.

Asia Cup 2022: Full squad list for the five teams

For the squads of the Asia Cup 2022 Qualifier, click here.

Afghanistan: Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (captain), Afsar Zazai, Samiullah Shinwari, Rashid Khan, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Usman Ghani, Azmatullah Omarzai, Karim Janat, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Naveen-ul-Haq, Noor Ahmad

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain (added to replace the injured Shaheen Afridi), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir, Mohammad Wasim

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Danusha Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka (vice-captain), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Asitha Fernando, Pramod Madushan, Nuwan Thushara

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99