The independent voice of cricket

Afghanistan v Ireland 2024

AFG vs IRE Test squad: Full team lists and injury updates for Afghanistan v Ireland one-off Test

Afghanistan's Ibrahim Zadran (L) celebrates after scoring a century (100 runs) on the third day of the one-off Test cricket match between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan at the Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) in Colombo on February 4, 2024, while Lorcan Tucker of Ireland hits the ball to the boundary for four during the LV= Insurance Test Match: Day Three between England and Ireland at Lord's Cricket Ground on June 03, 2023 in London, England.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Afghanistan will play Ireland for a one-off Test in Abu Dhabi, UAE, beginning on Wednesday, February 28. Here is the AFG vs IRE Test squad for both sides, including injury updates.

The one-off Test match will be played between February 28 and March 3 at the Tolerance Oval in Abu Dhabi. Having received ICC’s Full Membership in 2017, both sides pitted against each other in a Test match once in 2019 at Dehradun, India. With 2-20 and 5-82, Rashid Khan starred for Afghanistan, helping them to beat Ireland by seven wickets.

Ireland have undergone wholesale changes as only five members of the Test squad featured in Ireland’s defeat in Dehradun have been retained. The tourists have named a 15-member group led by Andrew Balbirnie. Rookie fast-bowler Matthew Foster has earned his maiden Test call-up. Foster represents Northern Districts and CSNI in Ireland’s domestic competitions and is one of the four uncapped players in the new-look squad. Barry McCarthy, Theo van Woerkom and Craig Young are also in line for a Test debut when the one-off Test gets underway.

After clean-sweeping the ODI and T20I series against Zimbabwe in December, Ireland went to a preparatory camp in Spain before flying out to UAE five days before the start of the Test.

AFG vs IRE Test squad: Team lists for Afghanistan vs Ireland Test match

Afghanistan: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Ikram Alikhail (wk), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Baheer Shah, Noor Ali Zadran, Abdul Malik, Nasir Jamal, Karim Janat, Khalil Gurbaz, Zahir Khan, Zia Ur Rehman Akbar, Nijat Masoud, Naveed Zadran, Ibrahim Abdulrahimzai

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (c), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Matthew Foster, Graham Hume, PJ Moor, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, James McCollum, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Theo van Woerkom, Craig Young

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99