The independent voice of cricket

Afghanistan v Ireland 2024

AFG vs IRE ODI squads: Full team list and injury updates for Afghanistan v Ireland ODIs

Harry Tector of Ireland during the Men's T20 International match between Ireland and Afghanistan at Stormont in Belfast.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Afghanistan will host Ireland for an ODI series in their adopted home in Sharjah from March 7. Here are the AFG vs IRE ODIs 2024 squads, including the full team lists and injury updates.

Ireland are entering the series high on confidence after winning the one-off Test against the hosts, securing their first-ever victory in the format since receiving ICC’s Full Membership status in 2017. Pacer Mark Adair starred for the tourists with 5-39 and 3-56.

The first ODI will be played on March 7, followed by the second and the third matches on March 9 and 12, respectively. The Sharjah Cricket Stadium will host all three clashes in the series.

Afghanistan team news

Afghanistan will be once again without Mujeeb Ur Rahman (right phalanx sprain) and Rashid Khan (recovering after back surgery). With spots up for grabs in the spin department, mystery tweaker Allah Mohammed Ghazanfar, who impressed in the 2024 Under-19 World Cup alongside left-arm spinner Nangyal Kharoti, received their maiden call-ups. Hashmatullah Shahidi will lead the home side.


Ireland team news

Meanwhile, Paul Stirling will captain the 15-member ODI side with quality players like Curtis Campher, Andrew Balbarnie, Harry Tector and George Dockrell, among others in their ranks.

Uncapped seamer Matthew Foster has been retained in the side after getting his maiden call-up for the one-off Test.

AFG vs IRE ODIs 2024 squads: Full team lists for ODI series between Afghanistan and Ireland

Afghanistan: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ikram Alikhil (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Nangyal Kharoti, Allah Mohammad Ghazanfar, Noor Ahmad, Bilal Sami, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Naveed Zadran and Farid Ahmad Malik.

Reserves: Zia Ur Rahman Akbar, Shahidullah Kamal and Qais Ahmad.

Ireland: Paul Stirling (c), Mark Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Matthew Foster, Graham Hume, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Theo van Woerkom, Craig Young

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99