The independent voice of cricket


Quiz! Name every Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World since WWII

by Wisden Staff 8 minute play

Can you ace this quiz and name everyone named the Men’s Leading Cricketer in the World by the Wisden Almanack since 1946?

The Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World award was established in 2004, with the criteria explained by Matthew Engel, Wisden Almanack editor at the time, as the player who “would have been the first name down in the World XI to play Mars”. The first winner was Australia’s Ricky Ponting, taking home the award for his efforts in 2003. Then, in 2007, the Wisden Almanack published a list of notional winners dating all the way back to 1900, before which Engel decreed international cricket too “inchoate and haphazard to make comparison sensible”.

The award is now recognised as one of the most prestigious individual gongs in all of cricket. With the 2019 Men’s Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World set to be announced on Wednesday, April 8, can you name all the winners going back to 1946?


Like & Share

If you enjoyed this story, please share with your fellow cricket fans and team-mates

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99