The independent voice of cricket

Irani Cup 2022/23

Irani Cup 2023, all you need to know: Squads, venue and where to watch details

Irani Cup 2023 will begin on March 1 at Gwalior
by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

Madhya Pradesh will take on a Rest of India side in the Irani Cup starting March 1 at Gwalior – here is all you need to know, including squad details, venue and where to watch details for Irani Cup 2023.

Madhya Pradesh, who won the Ranji Trophy in 2021-22, will be taking on a strong Rest of India team in a five-day encounter at Gwalior. The match was initially scheduled to be played at the Holkar Stadium in Indore but had to be shifted after Indore was chosen to replace Dharamsala as the venue for the third Test between India and Australia.

The Rest of India squad wears a strong look, with Mayank Agarwal, currently not part of India’s Test setup, leading the side. Abhimanyu Easwaran, who was with the Indian side during their series away to Bangladesh, has also been included. Sarfaraz Khan, who has been scoring heavily in domestic cricket, has unfortunately been ruled out due to a finger injury. Youngsters Yashasvi Jaiswal and Yash Dhull have also been selected for the Irani Cup 2023.


The bowling unit consists of Akash Deep, Chetan Sakariya, Mayank Markande, Mukesh Kumar, Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar. There is no place, however, for Jalaj Saxena and Shams Mulani, who picked up 50 and 46 wickets, respectively, in the most recent edition of the Ranji Trophy.

Madhya Pradesh, meanwhile, will be captained by Himanshu Mantri in the absence of regular skipper Aditya Shrivastava. Rajat Patidar and Venkatesh Iyer are also a part of the squad alongside speedster Avesh Khan.


The Irani Cup will be played at Gwalior.

Irani Cup 2023 squads

Rest of India squad: Mayank Agarwal (c), Sudip Kumar Gharami, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Harvik Desai, Mukesh Kumar, Atit Sheth, Chetan Sakariya, Navdeep Saini, Upendra Yadav (wk), Mayank Markande, Saurabh Kumar, Akash Deep, B Indrajith, Pulkit Narang, Yash Dhull

Madhya Pradesh squad: Himanshu Mantri (c & wk), Rajat Patidar, Yash Dubey, Harsh Gawli, Shubham Sharma, Venkatesh Iyer, Akshat Raghuwanshi, Aman Solanki, Kumar Kartikeya, Saransh Jain, Avesh Khan, Ankit Kushwah, Gaurav Yadav, Anubhav Agarwal, Mihir Hirwani

Irani Cup: Where to watch

In India, viewers can watch this match on the Star Sports Network on television. Live streaming for this game will be provided by Hotstar.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99