The independent voice of cricket

IPL 2024

Most IPL centuries: List of players with the most hundreds in the Indian Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore's batter Virat Kohli is celebrating his century during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 T20 cricket match between Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur, Rajasthan, India, on April 6, 2024.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The Indian Premier League has produced many explosive batting performances over the years, with the tournament revolutionising how batting is perceived in T20s. Here’s the complete list of batters who have scored the most numbers of hundreds in the IPL.

In 2008, Brendon McCullum lit up the inaugural edition by striking an unbeaten 158 off 73 balls in the very first match of the tournament’s history. His innings became the then-highest individual score in all T20s for the next five years before Chris Gayle overtook it with a brutal 175* off 66 against the now defunct Pune Warriors.

Since McCullum’s whirlwind knock, 92 IPL centuries have been recorded so far across the 17 seasons, with the 2024 edition currently going on. In 2009, Manish Pandey became the first Indian batter to score a hundred (114 not out off 73) in the competition, helping RCB to reach the knockouts that year.

Having represented RCB since the tournament’s inception, Kohli has breached the three-figure mark eight times, the most by any player in the IPL. Out of his eight centuries, four came in the record-breaking 2016 season, which saw the batter score a staggering 973 runs, also a record.

Jos Buttler’s unbeaten 107 off 60 helped Rajasthan Royals gun down the joint-highest run-chase in the tournament against Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens. He is zeroing in on Kohli’s tally with seven centuries to his name.

Full list of players with most centuries in the Indian Premier League (IPL)

Virat Kohli (RCB): 8 centuries

Jos Buttler (MI/RR): 7 centuries

Chris Gayle (KKR/KXIP/PBKS/RCB): 6 centuries

KL Rahul (KXIP/LSG/PBKS/RCB/SRH): 4 centuries

Shane Watson (CSK/RCB/RR): 4 centuries

David Warner (DC/SRH): 4 centuries

Shubman Gill (GT/KKR): 3 centuries

Sanju Samson (DC/RR): 3 centuries

AB de Villiers (DC/RCB): 3 centuries

Shikhar Dhawan (DC/DCH/MI/PBKS/SRH): 2 centuries

Rohit Sharma (DCH/MI): 2 centuries

Hashim Amla (KXIP): 2 centuries

Ben Stokes (CSK/RPS/RR): 2 centuries

Adam Gilchrist (DCH/KXIP): 2 centuries

Quinton de Kock (DC/LSG/MI/RCB/SRH): 2 centuries

Virender Sehwag (DC/KXIP): 2 centuries

Murali Vijay (CSK/DC/KXIP): 2 centuries

Brendon McCullum (CSK/GL/KKR/Kochi/RCB): 2 centuries

Ajinkya Rahane (CSK/DC/KKR/MI/RPS/RR): 2 centuries

Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR): 2 centuries

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99