The independent voice of cricket

IPL 2024

IPL five-wicket hauls: List of players with a five-for in Indian Premier League

Sunrisers Hyderabad's Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowls during the Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty20 cricket match between Gujarat Titans and Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 15, 2023.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The Indian Premier League has witnessed some explosive batting performances over the years, but there have been times when bowlers took centre stage. Here’s the list of bowlers who have taken five-wicket hauls in the IPL.

Sohail Tanvir was the first bowler to register a five-wicket haul in the tournament. In the inaugural season, when Pakistan players were allowed to participate, Tanvir took 6-14 against Chennai Super Kings in the inaugural season in 2008. With 22 wickets, he ended as the season’s highest-wicket taker, helping his team to a title win.

Only four players have managed to achieve the feat twice – James Faulkner (2013), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2017 and 2023), Jaydev Unadkat (2013 and 2017) and Jasprit Bumrah ( 2022 and 2024).

The best bowling figures belong to pacer Alzarri Joseph. He claimed 6-12 on IPL debut, for Mumbai Indians against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2019.

Full list of players with five-wickets haul in the Indian Premier League (IPL)

Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals) – 6-14 v Chennai Super Kings, 2008
Lakshmipathy Balaji (Chennai Super Kings) – 5-24 v Kings XI Punjab, 2008
Amit Mishra (Delhi Daredevils) – 5-17 v Deccan Chargers, 2008
Anil Kumble (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 5-5 v Rajasthan Royals, 2009
Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians) – 5-13 v Delhi Daredevils, 2011
Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians) – 5-18 v Chennai Super Kings, 2011
Ishant Sharma (Deccan Chargers) – 5-12 v Kochi Tuskers Kerala, 2011
Munaf Patel (Mumbai Indians) – 5-21 v Kings XI Punjab, 2011
Ravindra Jadeja (Chennai Super Kings) – 5-16 v Deccan Chargers, 2012
Dimitri Mascarenhas (Kings XI Punjab) – 5-25 v Pune Warriors India, 2012
Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 5-19 v Kings XI Punjab, 2012
James Faulkner (Rajasthan Royals) – 5-20 v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2013
Jaydev Unadkat (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 5-25 v Delhi Daredevils, 2013
James Faulkner (Rajasthan Royals) – 5-16 v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2013
Adam Zampa (Rising Pune Supergiants) – 6-19 v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2016
Andrew Tye (Gujarat Lions) – 5-17 v Rising Pune Supergiant, 2017
Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – 5-19 v Kings XI Punjab, 2017
Jaydev Unadkat (Rising Pune Supergiant) – 5-30 v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2017
Ankit Rajpoot (Kings XI Punjab) – 5-14 v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2018
Alzarri Joseph (Mumbai Indians) – 6-12 v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2019
Varun Chakravarthy (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 5-20 v Delhi Capitals, 2020
Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 5-27 v Mumbai Indians, 2021
Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 5-15 v Mumbai Indians, 2021
Arshdeep Singh (Punjab Kings) – 5-32 v Rajasthan Royals, 2021
Yuzvendra Chahal (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 5-40 v Kolkata Knight Riders, 2022
Umran Malik (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – 5-25 v Gujarat Titans, 2022
Wanindu Hasaranga (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 5-18 v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2022
Jasprit Bumrah (Mumbai Indians) – 5-10 v Kolkata Knight Riders, 2022
Mark Wood (Lucknow Super Giants) – 5-14 v Delhi Capitals, 2023
Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – 5-30 v Gujarat Titans, 2023
Akash Madhwal (Mumbai Indians) – 5-5 v Lucknow Super Giants, 2023
Mohit Sharma (Gujarat Titans) – 5-10 v Mumbai Indians, 2023
Jasprit Bumrah (Mumbai Indians) – 5-21 v Royal Challengers Bengaluru, 2024
Sandeep Sharma (Rajasthan Royals) – 5-18 v Mumbai Indians, 2024

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99