The independent voice of cricket

IPL 2024

IPL 2024 MVP table: Updated points tally for Most Valuable Player of IPL 2024

IPL 2024 MVP
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

IPL 2024 started on March 22. Here is the latest and updated points tally for the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of IPL 2024 after today’s game.

What is the Most Valuable Player award?

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award is part of an elaborate list of recognitions that are handed out at the end of every IPL season. THE MVP award recognises, as the name suggests, the most valuable player of the season, beyond just the number of runs scored and wickets taken. It is, in essence, a substitute of the Player of the Tournament award that is given out in most competitions.

How is the Most Valuable Player selected?

There’s a points system in place which allots points to players based on their performances. At the end of the season, the player with the highest number of points is named as the MVP.

No points are awarded for runs scored. Instead, every four is awarded 2.5 points and every six is awarded 3.5. For bowlers, every wicket taken is also awarded 3.5 points while every dot ball bowled fetches one point each. Points are awarded for fielding too – 2.5 for every catch and stumping effected.

IPL: List of MVP winners so far

IPL started the concept of the MVP in 2017, before which it used to award the Player of the Tournament. Here are all the winners of the Player of the Tournament/MVP award in IPL history.

Player of the Tournament

2008: Shane Watson (RR)
2009: Adam Gilchrist (DCH)
2010: Sachin Tendulkar (MI)
2011: Chris Gayle (RCB)
2012: Sunil Narine (KKR)
2013: Shane Watson (RR)
2014: Glenn Maxwell (PBKS)
2015: Andre Russell (KKR)
2016: Virat Kohli (RCB)

Most Valuable Player

2017: Sunil Narine (KKR)
2018: Sunil Narine (KKR)
2019: Andre Russell (KKR)
2020: Jofra Archer (RR)
2021: Harshal Patel (RCB)
2022: Jos Buttler (RR)
2023: Shubman Gill (GT)

IPL 2024: MVP points tally

  1. Sunil Narine (KKR) – 450 (15 games)
  2. Virat Kohli (RCB) – 315.5 (15 games)
  3. Travis Head (SRH) – 274 (15 games)
  4. Abhishek Sharma (SRH) – 273.5 (16 games)
  5. Pat Cummins (SRH) – 259 (16 games)

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99