The independent voice of cricket

Green Afghanistan One Day Cup 2022

Green Afghanistan One Day Cup 2022: Full squads for all three teams

Afghanistan One Day Cup squads
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The Green Afghanistan One Day Cup will feature three teams and will begin on May 8, 2022 – here’s the full squads and team list for the inaugural edition of the tournament.

Three teams, Maiwand Defenders, Pamir Legends, and Hindokush Strikers will take part in the Green Afghanistan One Day Cup, a new domestic event that has been introduced by the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB). The event begins on May 8, 2022, with seven games being played across 12 days. All three sides will play each other twice, with the top two advancing to the final, which will be held on May 20.

There is a day’s gap between all games, with the last league game being held on May 18. Pamir Legends and Maiwand Defenders will kickstart the competition, with all games being held in Khost Province.

A number of international Aghan stars will be seen in action, including cricketers such as Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rahmat Shah, and Najibullah Zadran. However, the cricketers who have bagged an IPL deal in 2022 will not be a part of the tournament.

Rashid Khan, Noor Ahmad, and Rahmanullah Gurbaz are a part of the Gujarat Titans setup, while Mohammad Nabi is with Kolkata Knight Riders. Fazalhaq Farooqi is associated with Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Royal Challengers Bangalore have roped in Izharulhaq Naveed as a net bowler.

Green Afghanistan One Day Cup 2022: Full squads and team list

Maiwand Defenders

Azmatullah Omarzai, Allah Noor, Darwish Rasooli, Hashmatullah Shahidi (c) ,Imran Mir, Noor Ali Zadran, Rahman Ullah Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Suliman Safi, Zubaid Akbari, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Ikram Alikhil (wk), Abdul Baqi, Aftab Alam, Ibrahim Rahimzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Wafadar Momand, Yamin Ahmadzai

Pamir Legends

Abdul Malik, Hazratullah Zazai, Ihsanullah, Shabir Noori, Abdul Wasi, Gulbadin Naib Ibrahim Safi, Rahmat Shah (c), Samiullah Shinwari, Shahidullah Kamal, Ziaur Rahman, Abdul Hadi, Bilal Sami (wk), Abdullah Adil, Amir Hamza, Mohammad Saleem, Sayed Shirzad, Zohaib Ahmadzai

Hindokush Strikers

Abdur Rehman, Asif Musazai, Bahir Shah, Bilal Ahmad, Farhan Zakhil, Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran (c), Sadiq Atal, Usman Ghani, Ijaz Ahmadzai, Jamshid Khan, Karim Janat, Afsar Zazai (wk), Fareed Ahmad, Nijat Masood, Yousuf Zazai, Zahir Khan, Zia-ur-Rehman

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99