The independent voice of cricket

Bangladesh v Sri Lanka 2024

BAN vs SL 2024 T20I squads: Full team lists and injury news for Bangladesh v Sri Lanka T20Is

Kusal Mendis of Sri Lanka celebrates after scoring a fifty during the Asia Cup match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh at R. Premadasa Stadium on September 9, 2023 in Colombo, Sri Lanka.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Bangladesh will play Sri Lanka in a T20I series at home from March 4. Here are the BAN vs SL T20I squads for both sides, including injury updates.

The first T20I will be played on March 4, followed by the second and the third matches on March 6 and 9, respectively. The Sylhet International Cricket Stadium will host all three clashes in the series.

Bangladesh will take the field without Shakib Al Hasan, who captained them during World Cup 2023, as the star all-rounder has been given a break due to a retinal condition in his left eye. Najmul Hossain Shanto will lead them across all formats for one year, the Bangladesh Cricket Board previously stated. Veteran Mahmudullah and opener Mohammad Naim have also returned to the T20I fold for the first time since 2022 after strong performances in 2024 BPL. Off-spinner Aliss Al Islam has earned his maiden call-up.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka have announced a 16-member squad led by Wanindu Hasaranga to take on their rivals. However, Hasaranga will miss the first two matches due to a suspension for abusing an on-field umpire during the third Afghanistan T20I. Hasaranga’s deputy, Charith Asalanka, will lead the side for the first two matches in his absence. Key players Pathum Nissanka and Dushmantha Chameera have been sidelined by injuries.

BAN vs SL T20I squads: Team lists for Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka T20I series

Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Liton Das, Anamul Haque, Mohammad Naim, Towhid Hridoy, Soumya Sarkar, Mahedi Hasan, Mahmudullah, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan, Aliss Al Islam.

Sri Lanka: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando (replaces Pathum Nissanka), Jeffrey Vandersay.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99