The independent voice of cricket


Team Selector: Pick your India XI for the West Indies ODIs

Team selector: India’s ODI series against West Indies will begin on February 6, but a number of Covid-19 cases in the camp means India will not be able to field the first-choice XI.

Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shreyas Iyer have tested positive for Covid-19, with Mayank Agarwal being called up as a replacement. The hosts might be tempted to try out Mayank at the top of the order while pushing KL Rahul to bat at No.5, a spot where he has tasted enormous success. The absence of Shreyas further opens up a place for Rahul in the middle-order, but the batter has preferred opening in the past, and it would be interesting to see what the team management decide.

The selectors sprung a surprise when they named Deepak Hooda in the ODI team for the upcoming series against West Indies. The Baroda all-rounder is yet to make his international debut, and edged Rishi Dhawan to make the cut. Ravi Bishnoi is another new face in the side. The youngster earns a selection after impressive performances in the Indian Premier League, where he played for Punjab Kings.

The return of Kuldeep Yadav is surprising too: the left-arm spinner looked out of answers of late, and his selection has more to do with the middling performances of the other white-ball spinners, including Rahul Chahar.

The big news is the return of Rohit Sharma, with the new white-ball skipper recovering from the hamstring injury that forced him to miss the series in South Africa. It will be his first outing as a full-time captain in the format.

The side misses the services of R Ashwin, who is injured, and is exoected to miss at least two months of action, while Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah have opted for rest.

With a number of selection questions, you have the opportunity to now make your own XI for the first ODI between India and West Indies.

Your Selection


Your Details

Your name:
Your e-mail address:
Your comments:


  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli
  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Suryakumar Yadav


  • KL Rahul
  • Rishabh Pant


  • Shardul Thakur
  • Deepak Hooda
  • Washington Sundar


  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Deepak Chahar
  • Prasidh Krishna
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Avesh Khan

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99