The independent voice of cricket


Team selector: Pick your India Test XI to face England

Team selector: Pick your India XI to face England for the upcoming series that kicks off at Trent Bridge from August 4.

The Indians had announced their squad for the World Test Championship and the Tests against England back in May, but have had to make some changes after a number of injuries. Shubman Gill and Washington Sundar have been ruled out, while Prithvi Shaw and Suryakumar Yadav have been called as replacements.

This will be India’s first Test series in the second cycle of the World Test Championship. They did go down in the summit clash of the WTC Final against New Zealand earlier this year, but will be itching to put in a clinical showing as they eye their first series win in the country since 2007.

A number of selection issues face India ahead of the Test series. In Gill’s absence, the side has the option of opening with Cheteshwar Pujara, Mayank Agarwal or KL Rahul, who did well in the recent warm-up game against County XI. The form of Ajinkya Rahane remains a worry too, but will they take the bold step and drop him from the side?

Does Hanuma Vihari get a look-in, and who will be India’s premier spinner? Though Ravindra Jadeja is one of the two current batsmen from the touring party to average over 30 in England, his bowling in the WTC Final failed to inspire. Ravichandran Ashwin is in the midst of a purple patch, but will India go with two spinners in their side, or will Mohammad Siraj pip a slower bowler in the XI?

The full India squad for the series against England:

Rohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper).

Your Selection


                        Your Details

                        Your name:
                        Your e-mail address:
                        Your comments:


                        • Rohit Sharma
                        • Cheteshwar Pujara
                        • Virat Kohli
                        • Ajinkya Rahane
                        • Suryakumar Yadav
                        • Prithvi Shaw
                        • Hanuma Vihari


                        • Rishabh Pant
                        • KL Rahul
                        • Wriddhiman Saha


                        • R Jadeja
                        • Axar Patel
                        • R Ashwin


                        • Jasprit Bumrah
                        • Mohammed Shami
                        • Ishant Sharma
                        • Umesh Yadav
                        • Mohammed Siraj
                        • Shardul Thakur

                        Become a Wisden member

                        • Exclusive offers and competitions
                        • Money-can’t-buy experiences
                        • Join the Wisden community
                        • Sign up for free
                        LEARN MORE
                        Latest magazine

                        Get the magazine

                        12 Issues for just £39.99