The independent voice of cricket

Women's Cricket

Women’s World T20 2018 schedule revealed

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The fixtures schedule for the 2018 Women’s World T20 in the West Indies has been revealed.

The 10-team tournament will be played across three venues in the Caribbean from November 9 to 24.

The finalists of the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier in the Netherlands from 7 to 14 July will complete the line-up of the November tournament, which is the first stand-alone Women’s World T20 event. One of Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda and the United Arab Emirates will take up those spots.

All 23 matches of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2018 will be broadcast live and DRS will be used for the first time in men’s or women’s World T20s.

Defending champions the Windies are in Group A along with England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Qualifier 1 from the Netherlands event, while Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and Qualifier 2 will be in Group B.

The event kicks off at the Guyana National Stadium, starting with India and New Zealand. In the second match, Australia will play Pakistan and the Windies round off the day playing Qualifier 1 under lights. This venue will also host matches between arch-rivals India and Pakistan on November 11 and trans-Transman adversaries Australia and New Zealand two days later.

The Darren Sammy Cricket Ground in St Lucia will be the other venue for the group stage with the first match there pitting England against Sri Lanka on 10 November, while the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua will host both semi-finals on November 22 and the final on November 22.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99