The independent voice of cricket

Women's Cricket

Hartley dropped as England name ODI squad

by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Alex Hartley has been left out of England’s ODI squad for the first two games against South Africa.

Hartley, who played a key role in England’s World Cup win last summer, has been replaced by fellow left-arm spinner Sophie Ecclestone after the latter took eight wickets in three ODIs against India in April.

Meanwhile England welcome back Katherine Brunt, who was ruled out of the India tour through injury, and Sarah Taylor, who was rested.

The South Africa series, which begins with matches at Worcestershire and Hove, is part of the ICC Women’s Championship, which decides the qualifiers for the 2021 Women’s World Cup in New Zealand, with England currently in sixth position in the points table.

Twill be the first meeting between the two sides since they contested the World Cup semi-final at Bristol last year.

The series will be England’s first at home since winning the World Cup

Georgia Elwiss, Laura Marsh and Lauren Winfield will also rejoin the squad.

“It should be a really exciting summer against two of the best teams in the world,” said England coach Mark Robinson, “It’s obviously great to have Katherine and Sarah back, and Lauren and Laura’s recent form has earned them recalls.”

“South Africa are an up and coming team with some really dangerous players. They pushed us close the last time we met them and we will have to be at our best to beat them.

Anya Shrubsole consoles South Africa captain Dane van Niekerk after England’s World Cup semi-final win

Following the South Africa series, both teams will compete in an IT20 tri-series alongside New Zealand, before England play another three ICC Women’s Championship fixtures against the Kiwis in early July.

England Women’s squad to face South Africa

Heather Knight (captain, Berkshire)
Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire)
Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)
Jenny Gunn (Warwickshire)
Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
Amy Jones (wicketkeeper, Warwickshire)
Laura Marsh (Kent)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Nat Sciver (Surrey)
Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper, Sussex)
Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire)
Danni Wyatt (Sussex)


Saturday June 9: 1st ODI v South Africa, Blackfinch New Road, 11am
Tuesday June 12: 2nd ODI v South Africa, 1st Central County Ground, 1pm
Friday June 15: 3rd ODI v South Africa, Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence, 2pm

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99