Watch: A peculiar gaffe from Grace Scrivens cost the Sunrisers five penalty runs during a Charlotte Edwards Cup match at Headingley yesterday (May 28).
Northern Diamonds got off to a brisk start after Hollie Armitage opted to bat. Kelly Castle got Lauren Winfield-Hill and Scrivens dismissed Armitage before the Diamonds reached 53-2 after 7.3 overs.
Sterre Kalis then tried to turn Abtaha Maqsood towards the leg-side. She missed, but the ball trickled to deep fine-leg off her pads, and Kalis and Leah Dobson at the other end sprinted through for leg-byes.
Sunrisers wicketkeeper Amara Carr was among the several people that chased the ball. Before setting off, Carr had dropped her right glove near the stumps to ensure she could throw the ball back without fuss.
Scrivens ran in from point and picked up the glove – a reflex action, presumably – to gather the ball, baseball-style, as the throw came in. Dobson and Kalis had run two by then.
In the process, Scrivens violated Laws 28.1: “No fielder other than the wicket-keeper shall be permitted to wear gloves or external leg guards” and 28.2.1 “he/she will be deemed to have fielded the ball illegally if, while the ball is in play he/she wilfully uses anything other than part of his/her person to field the ball.”
The umpires, Phil Mustard and Simon Widdup, awarded five penalty runs to the Diamonds as per Law 28.2.3. Last June, Babar Azam did something similar in an ODI, resulting in the West Indies also being given five penalty runs.
Scrivens probably understood what she had done, for she discarded the glove with a sheepish look on her face. With figures of 4-0-24-2, she was the best bowler for the Sunrisers as the Diamonds rode on Dobson’s 40-ball 47 and Bess Heath’s 14-ball 31 to post 172-7.
Scrivens then top-scored with a 35-ball 50, but it was not enough as the Sunrisers collapsed to 137 against Katie Levick (4-0-19-5).
Watch Grace Scrivens’ five-run gaffe here:
— Rosa Talks Ball (@rosatalksball) May 28, 2023