The independent voice of cricket


Latest ICC men’s ODI rankings: Siraj takes world No.1 spot, Gill becomes top Indian batter

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Mohammed Siraj has risen to the No.1 spot in the ICC men’s bowling charts for the first time in his career while his India teammate Shubman Gill has climbed 20 spots to No.6, his highest ever position.

Siraj took the top spot from New Zealand quick Trent Boult, who did not feature in the ODI series, after deciding to get released from his central contract last year. Siraj has had a stellar start to the year, picking up nine wickets in three ODIs against Sri Lanka and following it up with five wickets from two games against the Kiwis.

Siraj had been picked in ICC’s men’s ODI team of 2022 earlier this week after ending the previous year with 24 scalps from 15 games with an average of just below 24. The 28-year-old currently has 729 rating points and is two ahead of second-placed Josh Hazlewood.


His India teammate Gill also achieves his best ever ranking, climbing to No.6 to become the highest-ranked India batter. Gill, who averages over 113 this year, with three hundreds and one fifty from six innings, smashed a double ton in the first ODI of the New Zealand series before making another century in the third game.

Virat Kohli, at No.7, and Rohit Sharma, at No.9, are the other two India batters in the top ten. The India skipper climbed up two places after his hundred in Indore on Tuesday.

Mohammed Shami and Devon Conway were the other beneficiaries from the latest ranking update, with the former jumping 11 spots up to No.32 in the ODI bowler’s charts. Conway, who scored a fighting hundred in the third ODI against India is up to No.37 from No. 50.

Men’s ODI ICC men’s rankings

Batting charts

1 Babar Azam
2 Rassie van der Dussen
3 Quinton de Kock
4 David Warner
5 Imam-ul-Haq
6 Shubman Gill
7 Virat Kohli
8 Steve Smith
9 Rohit Sharma
10 Jonny Bairstow

Bowling charts

1 Mohammed Siraj
2 Josh Hazlewood
3 Trent Boult
4 Mitchell Starc
5 Rashid Khan
6 Adam Zampa
7 Shakib Al Hasan
8 Shaheen Afridi
9 Mustafizur Rahman
10 Mujeen ur Rahman

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99