The independent voice of cricket


ICC ODI table expanded to 16 teams

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The ICC has added Scotland, the United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands and Nepal to the list of teams that figure in the ODI rankings, taking the total number up to 16.

The four new teams join the 12 Test-playing nations in the table with just under one year to go for the next edition of the 50-over World Cup, to be played in England and Wales from May 30 2019 as a ten-team event.

England are right on top of the table, and Ireland are at No.12, with Scotland and UAE just behind them. The Netherlands and Nepal still don’t feature on the table, and will have to play four more ODIs to get in the list.

Scotland, at No.13, have 28 points, while UAE are at No.14 with 18 points. As of now, the Netherlands, who earned ODI status by winning the ICC World Cricket League Championship last year, have 13 points, while Nepal have zero. Nepal made the cut after beating Papua New Guinea in a play-off game at the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018.

(The Netherlands and Nepal will enter the table after playing four more matches each)

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99