The independent voice of cricket


ICC name their men’s ODI Team of the Decade

ODI decade team
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The ICC have named their ODI team of the Decade as part of their ICC Awards of the Decade series.

MS Dhoni, the 2011 World Cup-winning captain, leads the team which has been picked by the ICC’s Voting Academy of journalists and broadcasters. The XI has been selected based on performances from January 1, 2011 and October 7, 2020.

India have the most representatives in the XI with Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Dhoni while Australia (David Warner & Mitchell Starc) and South Africa (AB de Villiers & Imran Tahir) have the second-most representatives with two players each. Bangladesh, New Zealand, England, the current world champions, and Sri Lanka all have a player each in the XI.

Two of the top three run-scorers in the designated time period – Kohli and Sharma – make the XI but Hashim Amla, the third-highest run-getter, has been overlooked in favour of Warner. De Villiers deservedly makes the XI, having scored more runs at a better average and quicker than any other batsman during the qualification period.

Jos Buttler, a modern-day white-ball giant and part of Wisden’s ODI Team of the Decade, is a notable omission too, but with Dhoni, who scored almost 1,200 runs more than the Englishman at an average of over 50 in the qualification period, being selected as the wicketkeeper and captain, it was difficult for Buttler to find a spot. Dale Steyn is the only other player part of Wisden’s ODI Team of the Decade who isn’t in this XI.

Shakib Al Hasan, the only player to have taken over 100 wickets and scored over 3000 runs in the designated period, and Ben Stokes are the two all-rounders in the side. All four of the top wicket-takers in the qualification period – Malinga, Starc, Tahir and Boult respectively – have been selected in the XI.

ICC ODI Team of the Decade

Rohit Sharma (India)
David Warner (Australia)
Virat Kohli (India)
AB de Villiers (South Africa)
Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)
MS Dhoni – captain (India)
Ben Stokes (England)
Mitchell Starc (Australia)
Trent Boult (New Zealand)
Imran Tahir (South Africa)
Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)


Like & Share

If you enjoyed this story, please share with your fellow cricket fans and team-mates

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99