The independent voice of cricket


Ben Stokes claims Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year

by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

England all-rounder Ben Stokes added another feather to his cap by claiming the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the International Cricket Council Cricketer of the Year, to cap off a fabulous 2019, during which he became a 50-over World Cup winner and served up a buffet of unforgettable performances.

Stokes made 719 runs and claimed 12 wickets in 20 ODIs, during the voting period. But the standout performance came in the World Cup final at Lord’s, where his incredible resolve and determination pulled England out of the trenches to lift their first 50-over world title.

In Tests, he scored 821 runs, alongside 22 wickets, with the most memorable performance coming the third Ashes Test at Headingley, where his breathtaking assault on Australia, during a last-wicket partnership with Jack Leach, stunned the opposition and helped England pull off an unforgettable heist.

Ben Stokes showed tremendous grit to take the World Cup final into a Super Over

“It is quite flattering to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year,” Stokes was quoted as saying by an ICC release. “The past 12 months have been incredible for England cricket, and to lift the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time was our greatest achievement.

“There is an incredible bond between teammates and to savour our achievements, whether that’s winning the World Cup Final at Lord’s or digging deep to win a Test match against Australia at Headingley. It is satisfying you can accomplish these superb highs together.

“The last 12 months have been the best in my career, and I believe what we attained will be the catalyst to achieve further success over the next few years.”

Among the other big award winners, Australia’s Pat Cummins was named Test Player of the Year, while India’s limited-overs vice-captain Rohit Sharma claimed the ODI Player of the Year.

Cummins is the world’s top-ranked bowler in the red-ball format, and finished 2019 as the highest wicket-taker, with 59 wickets in 12 Tests, averaging 20.13 per scalp. Rohit, likewise, was the top run-scorer in ODIs, with 1490 runs at 57.30, including seven hundreds and six fifties. Five of those hundreds came during the World Cup, setting a new tournament record in the process, as he racked up 648 runs during India’s run to the semifinal.

Rohit Sharma’s five hundreds at the World Cup are a tournament record

Marnus Labuschagne’s incredible run of form since becoming cricket’s first concussion substitute during the 2019 Ashes series has earned him the emerging player of the year honour.

Deepak Chahar’s T20I world record performance of 6-7 against Bangladesh in Nagpur won him the performance of the year for the shortest format, while Virat Kohli won the Spirit of Cricket award for his gesture towards Steve Smith during the World Cup round-robin fixture at the Oval, when the Indian skipper dissuaded a section of hostile Indian fans from booing the former Australia captain.

Kohli was also named captain of the Test and ODI teams of the year.

Full list of award winners

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year – Ben Stokes

Test Cricketer of the Year – Pat Cummins

ODI Cricketer of the Year – Rohit Sharma

T20I Performance of the Year – Deepak Chahar (6-7 v Bangladesh, Nagpur, November 11)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne

Associate Cricketer of the Year – Kyle Coetzer

Spirit of Cricket award – Virat Kohli, for asking fans to not boo Steve Smith at the World Cup

David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year – Richard Illingworth

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99