The independent voice of cricket


Latest ICC men’s T20I rankings: Babar Azam holds on to No.1 spot, Suryakumar Yadav loses points

Babar t20i rankings
by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

Babar Azam continued to hold on to his top spot in the ICC men’s T20I batting rankings, managing a lead of 13 rating points ahead of second-placed Suryakumar Yadav.

Yadav was two points behind Babar when the rankings were updated last week, but the decision to rest the India batter from the fifth T20I against West Indies saw him drop 11 rating points. Yadav ended the series in the Caribbean as the leading run-scorer, making 135 runs in four games.

The updated rankings, which were released on Wednesday, saw big improvements made by India stars Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant. The latter, who made 115 runs in the series against West Indies, including a quick 44 in the fourth T20Is, jumped up seventh spots and is now 59th on the list.


Iyer, who has been named a standby in the Indian squad for the upcoming Asia Cup, entered the top 20 of the T20I rankings. His impressive fifty in the fifth T20I in Florida saw him climb up six places to 19th.

The rankings also rewarded Reeza Hendricks, who scored 74 and 42 in South Africa’s series against Ireland. The 32-year-old moved up two places to 13th.

A number of India bowlers benefitted in the rankings as well. Ravi Bishnoi, who ended as India’s leading wicket-taker in the series, with eight scalps, surged ahead 50 spots to the 44th position. Avesh Khan, Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav too were big movers.

However, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who picked up three wickets against the West Indies, dropped a place and is now ninth in the rankings. He is the only India bowler in the top ten list.

In the ODI rankings, Sikandar Raza – currently in the midst of a fine run – and has moved to No.4 in the all-rounders’ charts. In the batting rankings, he’s moved 10 spots up to 29.

ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings (Batting)

Babar Azam – Pakistan
Suryakumar Kumar – India
Mohammad Rizwan – Pakistan
Aiden Markram – South Africa
Dawid Malan – England
Aaron Finch – Australia
Devon Conway – New Zealand
Pathum Nissanka – Sri Lanka
Nicholas Pooran – West Indies
Martin Guptill – New Zealand

ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings (Bowling)

Josh Hazlewood – Australia
Tabraiz Shamsi – South Africa
Rashid Khan – Afghanistan
Adil Rashid – England
Adam Zampa – Australia
Akeal Hosein – West Indies
Wanindu Hasaranga – Sri Lanka
Maheesh Theekshana – Sri Lanka
Bhuvneshwar Kumar – India
Ashton Agar – Australia

ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings (All-rounder)

Mohammad Nabi – Afghanistan
Shakib Al Hasan – Bangladesh
Moeen Ali – England
Glenn Maxwell – Australia
Rohan Mustafa – UAE
JJ Smit – Namibia
Zeeshan Maqsood – Oman
Dipendra Airee – Nepal
Aiden Markram – South Africa
Wanindu Hasaranga – Sri Lanka

ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings (Batting)

Babar Azam – Pakistan
Imam-ul-Haq – Pakistan
Rassie van der Dussen – South Africa
Quinton de Kock – South Africa
Virat Kohli – India
Rohit Sharma – India
Ross Taylor – New Zealand
David Warner – Australia
Jonny Bairstow – England
Aaron Finch – Australia

ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings (Bowling)

Trent Boult – New Zealand
Jasprit Bumrah – India
Shaheen Afridi – Pakistan
Josh Hazlewood – Australia
Mujeeb Ur Rahman – Afghanistan
Mehedi Hasan – Bangladesh
Matt Henry – New Zealand
Mohammad Nabi – Afghanistan
Rashid Khan – Afghanistan
Chris Woakes – England

ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings (All-rounder)

Shakib Al Hasan – Bangladesh
Mohammad Nabi – Afghanistan
Rashid Khan – Afghanistan
Sikandar Raza – Zimbabwe
Mitchell Santner – New Zealand
Mehedi Hasan – Bangladesh
Colin de Grandhomme – New Zealand
Zeeshan Maqsood – Oman
Chris Woakes – England
Imad Wasim – Pakistan

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99