The independent voice of cricket

International Cricket

Namibia & Nigeria replace Zimbabwe in T20 World Cup Qualifiers

by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

Zimbabwe’s ongoing suspension from the ICC has seen their representative sides replaced by Namibia and Nigeria for this year’s ICC Women’s and Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers, respectively.

Namibia’s women will compete in the upcoming Qualifier in Scotland – to begin on August 31 – while Nigeria’s men will feature in October’s Qualifier in the UAE.

The Qualifier in Scotland will see eight teams compete for two spots at next year’s women’s T20 World Cup in Australia. The men’s Qualifier will feature 14 teams, with the top six sides progressing to the first group stage of the 2020 men’s T20 World Cup.

Zimbabwe Cricket were suspended by the ICC last month after the national cricket administration were found to be in breach of the governing body’s constitution, having failed to ensure that there was “no government interference in its governance and/or administration for cricket respectively”.

The suspension means Zimbabwe’s representative sides are not permitted to feature at any ICC events.

Namibia have been included in the Qualifier having lost to Zimbabwe in the final of the women’s African Qualifier, while Nigeria’s inclusion comes after their third-placed finish in the Africa Final earlier this year.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99