The independent voice of cricket

International Cricket

England name squad for final India Test at the Oval

by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

England have named a largely unchanged squad for the final Test against India that starts this Friday at the Oval.

The 13-man squad contains the 11 that played at the Ageas Bowl plus Ollie Pope and Chris Woakes. James Vince, who was included as a standby for Jonny Bairstow for the fourth Test, is not included in this squad.

Pope is set to play the first two days of Surrey’s County Championship encounter with Essex before joining up with the rest of the squad on Thursday.

In an England Test squad for the final time is Alastair Cook, who will play his 161st and final Test match. Cook’s partner at the top of the innings will continue to be Keaton Jennings. The selectors have opted to persevere with Jennings, who is yet to score a 50 this series, in favour of Rory Burns who, if selected, would have made his Test debut at his home ground at the Oval.

England have already taken the series with one Test to play after victories at Edgbaston, Lord’s and the Ageas Bowl.

England squad for fifth Test

Joe Root
Moeen Ali
Jimmy Anderson
Jonny Bairstow
Stuart Broad
Jos Buttler
Alastair Cook
Sam Curran
Keaton Jennings
Ollie Pope
Adil Rashid
Ben Stokes
Chris Woakes


Like & Share

If you enjoyed this story, please share with your fellow cricket fans and team-mates

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99