The independent voice of cricket


India announce squad for the 2022 Asia Cup: Virat Kohli returns, Jasprit Bumrah injured

by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

India have named a 15-member squad for the 2022 Asia Cup, which will be played in the Twenty20 format.

The tournament, which begins on August 27, will mark the return of Virat Kohli and KL Rahul. Rahul, who is yet to play a T20I this year, was recovering from injuries, while Kohli was rested for the tour of the Caribbean after a prolonged run of poor form.

Kohli averages 20.25 in the format this year at a strike rate of just above 128. However, the selectors have shown faith in him, who has an overall average of 50.12 in 99 T20Is, a number that increases to 76.81 in the T20 World Cup.

Jasprit Bumrah or Harshal Patel are both out with injuries. There is also no place for Axar Patel, who will remain a standby along with Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar. Neither Sanju Samson nor Ishan Kishan – who was part of the T20 World Cup squad last year – makes the cut. Meanwhile, Avesh Khan edges ahead of Mohammed Shami, who no longer remains a plan of the T20I set-up if reports are to be believed.

India squad for the Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Here are some reactions to the squad:

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99