Richa Ghosh survives caught-behind review despite ‘clear deflection’, Harmanpreet left bemused
Richa Ghosh had a lucky reprieve during Royal Challengers Bangalore’s WPL clash against Mumbai Indians, with UltraEdge not showing a spike during a caught-behind review despite what seemed like an obvious deflection when the ball passed the bat.
The incident occurred on the third ball of the ninth over. Nat Sciver-Brunt dug the ball in short on middle and leg stump. Ghosh, looking at the length, was enticed into playing a pull stroke. The angle of the delivery, though, meant that she was cramped for room. According to the umpire, Ghosh swung and missed but Mumbai Indians they opted for the review almost instantly.
As soon as the first replay came up, Mumbai Indians thought that they had gotten the better of Ghosh, with there seemingly being a clear deflection when the ball passed the bat. To their dismay, however, UltraEdge did not return with a spike, meaning that the third umpire did not overturn the decision. Harmanpreet Kaur, captaining Mumbai Indians, looked bemused by the sequence of events, as did all of her teammates.
Ghosh seemed set to walk back towards the pavilion as soon as Mumbai Indians opted to go upstairs. It was only after watching UltraEdge that she stopped and returned to resume her innings. Ben Sawyer, who is currently the head coach of Royal Challengers Bangalore in the WPL, was also a little surprised that Ghosh was not given out.
“If I am honest, I thought it (the ball) moved a little bit (after passing the bat). I am glad that Snicko (Ultra Edge) did not quite pick it up,” he said while being interviewed by the broadcaster.
Ghosh was ultimately dismissed by Hayley Matthews in the 14th over for a 26-ball 28, which consisted of three fours and a six. Earlier in the innings, Smriti Mandhana and Sophie Devine had gotten RCB off to a good start, until a sequence of four wickets in seven balls derailed their charge.
Richa Ghosh survives, and the reaction says it all.#WPL2023 | #RCBvsMI pic.twitter.com/OslhKJu8Qb
— Saikat Ghosh (@Ghosh_Analysis) March 6, 2023
Wow, think Richa Ghosh got lucky there. The first replay shows a deflection. UltraEdge missed it? #WPL2023
— Vinayakk (@vinayakkm) March 6, 2023