Watch: LBW, caught, not out? – Rilee Rossouw walks off after being given not out, TV umpire adjudges back-of-bat dismissal in bizarre sequence
In an unusual sequence of events, Rilee Rossouw walked off despite being given not out by the on-field umpire, only for the TV umpire to adjudge him out caught despite being seemingly out first lbw during IPL 2023.
The incident occurred in the 12th over of Delhi Capitals’s chase against Lucknow Super Giants, when Rossouw tried to sweep Ravi Bishnoi, but missed it, the ball darting into his pads. The ball then ballooned to Kyle Mayers at short third man, who took the catch even as the fielders appealed, seemingly for an lbw.
The on-field umpire signalled not out, forcing KL Rahul and team to quickly ask for a review.
Replays showed that the ball had pinged into his pads, and did look to be fairly plumb leg-before – instead of checking it, though, the TV umpire proceeded to follow the trajectory of the ball. Footage showed that the ball had clipped the back of his bat, before it travelled to Mayers, who completed the catch. Based on the sequence of events, the lbw should have been checked first (and would have probably been out), but the umpire skipped to what followed after the ball had ballooned up to the fielder.
Consequently, Rossouw was given out caught. The dismissal kickstarted a collapse of sorts – from 86-4, Delhi Capitals slipped to 113-7 and then 143-9 in 20 overs.
How was that Rossouw dismissal not out LBW? It hit the pad first, and the ball was going on to hit the stumps. Should they not have checked the LBW first?
— Himanish Ganjoo (@hganjoo_153) April 1, 2023
Rossouw went back to the dug-out the moment it was reviewed, had a shower and came back… by which time the third umpire looked at all angles to give him out #IPL2023 | #LSGvDC pic.twitter.com/9oANZtT53I
— 🏏Flashscore Cricket Commentators (@FlashCric) April 1, 2023