The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2023

Explained: Klaasen blocks caught and bowled, Jadeja fumes – What do the laws say?

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Ravindra Jadeja was visibly displeased after he was prevented from taking a caught-and-bowled chance by the presence of non-striker Heinrich Klaasen in the IPL today (April 21) – but what do the laws say?

Normally, it would have been a simple chance, especially for a fielder of Jadeja’s quality. Mayank Agarwal chipped a return catch back at the bowler, who moved to his right and got both hands to the ball.

However, Jadeja then collided with Klaasen, stationed at the non-striker’s end. The ball was spilled, with the India all-rounder ending up in a heap on the floor, looking up at Klaasen with frustration on his face, before getting up and kicking the turf. Klaasen held up a hand in apology as Jadeja retreated to his mark.


There was no appeal from Chennai Super Kings, but there are laws around a batter obstructing the field. However, the key word in Law 37 is “wilfully”, and with Klaasen holding his position and attempting to regain his ground, it is unlikely an umpire would have ruled the obstruction was wilful.

“Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action,” Law 37.1 states.

Law 37.2 states, “A batter shall not be out Obstructing the field if the obstruction or distraction is accidental”.

The moment didn’t cost CSK much. Later in the over, Jadeja beat Agarwal as he came down the track, with MS Dhoni completing the stumping.

To bet on the IPL with our Match Centre partners bet365, head here.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99