The independent voice of cricket

IPL 2022 – Stories | Indian Premier League

IPL 2022: SRH squad list, full team, injury news, coaching staff & replacement updates for Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2022 SRH squad
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

Sunrisers Hyderabad, who finished last in the 2021 season of the league, will be looking at the IPL 2022 as an opportunity to improve their fortunes: here’s the full squad list, team news, replacements, injury updates, and coaching staff for SRH ahead of season 15 of the Indian Premier League.

SRH won the IPL in the 2016 season when they beat RCB by eight runs to lift the title.

The team had retained only Kane Williamson, Umran Malik, and Abdul Samad prior to the auction. Among the older players who were bought back were Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhishek Sharma, and Priyam Garg. The new acquisitions included Aiden Markram, Washington Sundar, and Nicholas Pooran.


SRH suffered a number of issues during their last campaign, including the controversy surrounding the exclusion of David Warner. The Australia opener found himself out of favour during the second leg of the IPL and wasn’t retained by the franchise. Warner was eventually bought by Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2022 auction.

Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2022: SRH squad

Retained Players

Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik

Bought in the auction


Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Kartik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, Jagadeesha Suchith, R Samarth, Shashank Singh, Saurabh Dubey, Vishnu Vinod

Nicholas Pooran, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Romario Shepherd, Sean Abbott, Glenn Phillips, Fazalhaq Farooqi

SRH in IPL 2022: Sunrisers Hyderabad Team news

Sunrisers Hyderabad will begin their IPL 2022 campaign with a contest against Rajasthan Royals on March 29. The SRH games will be spread over Pune and Mumbai. The side is placed in Group B along with Gujarat Titans, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Punjab Kings.

IPL 2022 schedule: Full list of fixtures

SRH in IPL 2022: Predicted XI

Abhishek Sharma, Kane Williamson (c), Rahul Tripathi, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Aiden Markram, Shashank Singh, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Marco Jansen, Umran Malik, T Natarajan

Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2022: Full SRH Support Staff

Head coach, Tom Moody

Assistant Coach, Simon Katich

Fielding Coach, Hemang Badani

Spin Bowling Coach, Muttiah Muralitharan

Pace Bowling Coach, Dale Steyn

Batting Coach, Brian Lara

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99