Rohit Sharma could receive punishment under the IPL Code of Conduct after showing his displeasure with the umpire when given out during Mumbai Indians’ clash against Punjab Kings.
Rohit was given caught down the leg-side in the first over of the innings, and quickly reviewed. After he did so, he gestured towards the umpire while saying something, apparently upset at the decision.
While Rohit was right to review – UltraEdge showed no evidence of him hitting the ball – he could still be in hot water. Article 2.8 of the IPL Code of Conduct deals with “dissent at an umpire’s decision”.
The section notes: “It shall not be a defence to any charge brought under this article to show that the umpire might have, or in fact did, get any decision wrong”.
— Trollmama_ (@Trollmama3) April 23, 2021
If charged, Rohit could be guilty of a level one or two offence, though it would likely be the former. This would bring a fine of up to 50 per cent of his match fee, while another such charge could see him face a ban.
Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.