An umpiring decision involving the DRS system to deem David Warner out caused controversy during the IPL 2020 eliminator between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad, with many, including commentator, Pommie Mbangwa, considering it an incorrect decision.
The incident took place in the sixth over of the chase, when a delivery from Mohammed Siraj angled into David Warner, cut him in half. After the ball whistled past his waist, RCB went up in a synchronised appeal, confident that there was a contact from the batsman.
The umpire, however, wasn’t interested, but a pumped-up Virat Kohli opted for the DRS review two seconds before the meter timed out. The soft signal was not out.
The third umpire, Virender Sharma, surveyed the replays to find a possible point of contact, assessing different angles to find something conclusive. At one point, the bottom part of the glove seemed to be brushing the ball, and the Ultra Edge showed a spike, but it looked difficult to be certain. The umpire, however, found an angle where he seemed convinced that ‘I can see the ball is touching the gloves here’, and confirmed that it was out.
— Sky Sports Cricket (@SkyCricket) November 6, 2020
That's a very very fraught decision to give Warner. If there was that much doubt it had to go to the batsman. And that spike could have also been from the ball hitting the batsman's clothes. Shocker!
— Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) November 6, 2020
It was fairly impossible to tell whether the ball brushed the glove, and so any decision to overturn the on-field call needed certainty. Yes, there was a spike as the ball passed Warner's glove……but that was because the ball thudded into his body at the same time. @ipl
— Radio Cricket (@RadioCricket) November 6, 2020
Incredible decision from the 3rd umpire. David Warner every reason to blow up. Original decision not out and never conclusive evidence to overturn
— Scott Styris (@scottbstyris) November 6, 2020
What game and replays are you watching..!! Clearly off the glove.. 😳😳😂
— Simon Doull (@Sdoull) November 6, 2020
— Nikesh Rughani (@NikeshRughani) November 6, 2020
A visibly upset David Warner walked back – commentator Mbangwa was heard saying “I think he has got it wrong. Everything happening way too close – with pad, and glove, and tummy, and shirt… they [RCB] were desperate, they just needed it.”
Sunil Gavaskar had a lighter take on the issue: “That’s fine, I think whichever is the umpire’s decision, is final. But clearly, Virender Sharma shouldn’t go anywhere close to David Warner.”