IPL 2020: Rohit gets DRS call wrong by turning down Boult’s appeal
Mayank Agarwal survived an early scare when Rohit Sharma opted to take a DRS review in IPL 2020, despite the bowler, Trent Boult appearing convinced, only for replays to later prove Rohit wrong.
The incident occurred in the third ball of Kings XI Punjab’s chase against Mumbai Indians, when opener Mayank Agarwal wafted at a Boult delivery outside off. As the ball went past his bat and landed in Quinton de Kock’s gloves, Boult went up in appeal, vociferously trying to convince the on-field umpire of an outside edge.
He turned around towards his captain, Rohit, who walked up to have a discussion mid-pitch. Despite Boult appearing completely convinced, Rohit was seen shaking his head, appearing unsure if he had heard anything. With only one review on offer, he decided to not go with Boult’s conviction – even the keeper, Quinton de Kock, was seen shaking his head, appearing unfavourable to using DRS.
Let off for Agarwal & #KXIP!
Boult is convinced he found the edge but the umpire says no & the bowler can't convince his #MumbaiIndians team-mates either…
…UltraEdge shows there was a nick! #IPL2020
— Sky Sports Cricket (@SkyCricket) October 18, 2020
“He’s gotta say: ‘Skip, we gotta go!” said Pommie Mbangwa, the on-air commentator, but Boult couldn’t convince his teammates. The bowler was left helplessly looking around for support, but by then, the DRS countdown had reached zero.
When the replays came up later, UltraEdge showed a spike as the ball passed the bat. “He’s hit that,” Mbangwa said, feeling for Boult. “What about help from his mates?”
What Boult couldn’t complete, Jasprit Bumrah did exactly three over later, creating a steep angle that forced Mayank to chop one onto his own stumps. Still reeling from the failed appeal, perhaps, Boult had a forgettable first spell, giving away 40 runs off his first three overs. Who knows, the skipper’s trust in his own bowler could have made things different for the New Zealand quick.