Did Twitter users spot an umpiring mistake in Faf du Plessis DRS reprieve?
Several Twitter users pointed out an apparent mistake made by the TV umpire during a review for an lbw decision against Faf du Plessis in Chennai Super Kings’ IPL 2020 clash against Delhi Capitals.
The South Africa batsman was on 49 not out, facing his compatriot Anrich Nortje. A leg-stump yorker was squeezed out into the leg side, and du Plessis ran a single. When the umpire opted not to signal a leg bye, he began to celebrate his half-century, only for Delhi Capitals captain Shreyas Iyer to opt to use the Decision Review System and challenge the decision.
While the ball seemed to be heading down the leg side, the ball tracking replay wasn’t shown, with the TV umpire judging that du Plessis had hit the ball, and thus couldn’t be given out lbw.
Soon enough, fans and pundits began to question the decision, citing a visible gap between bat and ball and pointing out that the bat appeared to have hit the ground, which could have caused the spike on UltraEdge.
That spike looked as if it was from Faf's bat hitting the ground not the ball, or at least that's what it looked to me. Not totally convinced with this third umpire call. A wicket off the next ball is some consolation though. pic.twitter.com/hYYunWfpWo
— Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) October 17, 2020
I saw a gap between bat and ball. Just shows, even DRS reviews are judgement calls in the end.
— Snehal Pradhan (@SnehalPradhan) October 17, 2020
Whatever the rights and wrongs of the decision, DC didn’t stew for long. Nortje bounced back by bowling Shane Watson with his next ball, and du Plessis only added another eight runs before being well caught by Shikhar Dhawan off Kagiso Rabada.