The independent voice of cricket

County Cricket

Watch: Alastair Cook walks before being given lbw

by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

Regardless of your view on whether a batsman should walk in cricket, it’s generally seen as a classy move when it does actually happen.

Even more so, arguably, when a batsman walks for an lbw before an umpire raises their finger, rather than for a caught behind decision. In Essex’s pre-season warm-up game against Kent, former England captain Sir Alastair Cook did exactly that.

When an over-the-wicket delivery from Harry Podmore kept low and struck Cook flush on the pads, Cook didn’t bother waiting for the umpire’s decision in the full in the knowledge that the ball was on track to smash into his stumps.

Cook was dismissed for 10 on what was otherwise a decent day for the reigning County Championship and Bob Willis Trophy title-holders. Essex, in response to Kent’s 270-5d on day one, posted 299-5 with opener Nick Browne top-scoring with 97.

You can watch the moment Cook walked before being given lbw here:

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99