The independent voice of cricket

2022 in Review

Babar Azam captains ICC’s men’s ODI Team of the Year for 2022

Babar Azam Captains ICC's Men's ODI Team Of The Year For 2022
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

The ICC has named their men’s and women’s ODI teams for 2022, Babar Azam and Harmanpreet Kaur lead the respective sides.

There is a spread of international talent across both the men’s and women’s teams, but India came out with the most players in total with two men’s players and three women’s players. Australia also had two players in the men’s team, but had one fewer than India in the women’s team.

It will come as no surprise that Babar leads the men’s side after a stellar 2022. As captain of the Pakistan ODI team, he won all three series that the team played, accumulating 679 runs at an astonishing average of 84.87 which included three centuries. He remains at the top of the individual ICC batting rankings. He is joined at the top of the order by Travis Head, who took over as an opener in the Australia ODI side after Aaron Finch’s retirement. He scored 550 runs at an average of 68.75 last year.


The team’s number three Shai Hope is one of the two West Indians to be named in the side and has the second-most runs in the team from 2022. He made 709 runs including three hundreds last year. Shreyas Iyer at four is the side’s top scorer with a total of 724 runs at 55.69 in the 2022 and anchored the Indian middle order throughout the year. The side’s wicketkeeper Tom Latham comes in at number five and took his game to a new level in 2022, notching four scores of over fifty including two hundreds.

Sikandar Raza is the only Zimbabwean to make the team, his three centuries and 645 runs at 49.61 led Zimbabwe’s resurgence in 2022. He was also more than handy with the ball, taking eight wickets at an economy rate of 5.03. It is a testament to his incredible year that he is the only player to make both the men’s ODI Team of the Year and the men’s T20I team. At seven is Bangladesh’s Mehidy Hasan Miraz who was the standout all-rounder in 2022 ODIs, taking 24 wickets in 15 matches at 28.20 while also hitting 330 runs at an average of 66.

Alzarri Joseph is the first of the team’s out and out bowlers, he claimed 27 wickets in 17 games in 2022 with an average of 25.70 and a strike-rate of 33.4. Mohammed Siraj is the second Indian player to make the men’s side, taking 24 wickets in his 15 matches with an economy only marginally worse than Joseph’s at 4.62. Trent Boult continues to show why he’s one of the best New Zealand bowlers of all-time with another appearance for the ODI Team of the Year. He may have only played in six games, but took 18 wickets at 12.38, with best figures of 4-38 and an economy of 3.98. Adam Zampa completes the XI, taking 30 wickets in 2022 at an average of 17.53 in 12 matches.

ICC men’s ODI Team of 2022: Babar Azam (c), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wk), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa.

Kaur captains the ICC women’s ODI team of 2022

The 33-year-old Kaur had her best year in ODIs in 2022, accumulating a massive 754 runs at an average of 58, scoring two hundreds which included a memorable 143* against England in September. She also chipped in five wickets with her handy off-breaks.

Kaur leads a side with Alyssa Healy and Smriti Mandhana as openers. Healy’s most memorable knock of 2022 came right at the beginning, in the World Cup in New Zealand. She scored 170 in the final against England, finishing the tournament with 509 runs to help Australia lifting the trophy. Mandana was excellent yet again for India, scoring one century and six fifties across the year.

Laura Wolvaardt, Nat Sciver, and Beth Mooney makeup Nos. 3, 4 and 5 with Kaur coming in at six. Sciver amassed a monster 833 ODI runs and 12 wickets across the calendar year. Mooney had another excellent year as the captain of the World Cup winning Australia side. She joins Mandana and Sophie Ecclestone as the only three women to make both the ODI and T20I women’s teams of 2022. The 22-year-old Amelia Kerr comes in at seven, with her 676 runs and 17 wickets proving yet again that she is one of the best all-rounders in the women’s game.

As stated, Ecclestone also makes the side, having taken 22 wickets at the World Cup and 34 across the entire calendar year at an average of just 19.14. Three pacers complete the team in the forms of Ayabonga Khaka, Renuka Singh and Shabnim Ismail.

ICC women’s ODI Team of 2022: Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana, Laura Wolvaardt, Nat Sciver, Beth Mooney, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Amelia Kerr, Sophie Ecclestone, Ayabonga Khaka, Renuka Singh, Shabnim Ismail.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99