The independent voice of cricket

Zimbabwe v West Indies 2023

ZIM vs WI 2023, Test squad: Full team list | Zimbabwe v West Indies

West Indies captain Kraigg Brathwaite gives instructions to his players on the first day of the second cricket Test match between Australia and the West Indies at the Adelaide Oval in Adelaide on December 8, 2022 | ZIM vs WI 2023
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

West Indies travel to Zimbabwe for a two-match Test series to be played from February 4 to 16, 2023 – here’s the full set of squads for both sides, including team news and player replacement updates for the ZIM vs WI series.

The two teams have faced each other ten times in Tests, with West Indies winning seven of those, and three of them ending in a draw. The last time the two sides met in a Test series was in 2017, with West Indies winning the Clive Lloyd Trophy 2-1. It will be the sixth Test series between the two teams.

Ahead of the first Test, the touring West Indies unit will play a three-day warm-up match against a Zimbabwe XI led by Faraz Akram in Bulawayo. The West Indies side is led by Kraigg Brathwaite.


Among the highlights from West Indies’ touring unit is the recall of experienced seamer Shannon Gabriel, who last played a Test in November 2021. Left-arm spinners Gudakesh Motie and Jomel Warrican have also earned their comebacks.

Jayden Seales was not selected, having undergone surgery for a knee issue. Anderson Philip is also unavailable due to injury.

Both the Tests will be held at the Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo, also the venue for the last Test between the two sides.

WI vs ZIM, 2023 Tests: Full squads

West Indies squad

Kraigg Brathwaite (C), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Roston Chase, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Raymon Reifer, Devon Thomas, Jomel Warrican, Gudakesh Motie

Zimbabwe squad

Zimbabwe are yet to announce their squad. The following players featured in the warm-up match:

Faraz Akram (c), Wesley Madhevere, Privilege Chesa (wk), Timycen Maruma, Joylord Gumbie, Carl Mumba, Donald Tiripano, William Mashinge, Milton Shumba, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tanaka Chivanga, Tanunurwa Makoni, Tony Munyonga, Kudzai Maunze, Tafadzwa Tsiga

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99