The independent voice of cricket

World Test Championship 2021/23

ICC WTC 2023 final prize money: How much will the winner of the IND vs AUS final earn?

WTC 2023 prize money - ICC announces prize money for WTC Final 2023
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The ICC has announced the prize money for the 2021-2023 cycle of the World Test Championship, including the final today (May 26).

The second edition of the World Test Championship started on August 4, 2021, and is about to conclude with the final to be played between Australia and India from June 7, 2023.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has meanwhile announced the prize money distribution for this cycle of the WTC. A total of $3.8 million will be distributed among the nine teams that participated in the tournament.


The distribution is the same as that of the previous edition. New Zealand, winners of the 2019-2021 cycle, bagged $1.6 million, while India, the runners-up, were rewarded with $800,000. The winners and the runners-up of the Championship this time around will take home the same amounts of cash respectively.

The rest of the $1.4 million will be distributed among the seven other teams which didn’t make the final, based on their rankings in the tournament.

South Africa, who finished third, will take home $450,000 while fourth-placed England will get $350,000. Sri Lanka, who were close to making the final at one stage but finished fifth, will earn $200,000.

The bottom four teams – New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, and Bangladesh – will all get $100,000.

Australia had finished on top of the table while India had finished second. Both teams will meet at The Oval, London, for the summit clash starting June 7.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99