The independent voice of cricket

Series Editorial

West Indies in New Zealand 2020/21: NZ Test & T20I squads

West Indies In New Zealand 2020/21: NZ Test And T20I Squads | Cricket
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

New Zealand are about to resume international action with a three-T20I series and a two-Test rubber against West Indies – here are their squads for those two encounters.

The tour will mark the Blackcaps’ first games since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Tim Southee will lead New Zealand in the first two T20Is before leaving the group to join up with the Test squad. Mitchell Santner, who has never before captained his country, will skipper the side for the third game of the series before also heading across as cover for first-choice spinner Ajaz Patel.

Ross Taylor and Kyle Jamieson will also miss the final T20I, with Doug Bracewell, Mark Chapman and Scott Kuggeleijn set to replace them in the squad for that game.

West Indies in New Zealand 2020/21 fixture list

New Zealand have included two uncapped players, with Devon Conway in the T20I squad, and Will Young in the Test squad. South-African born Conway, who has long been one of the leading batsmen in New Zealand domestic cricket, has only just qualified for selection. The 29-year-old averages 47.54 in first-class cricket, 44.98 in List A cricket, and 39.66 in T20s.

Young, a 28-year-old top-order batsman, averages 42.99 in first-class cricket, with nine hundreds and 29 half-centuries.

West Indies in New Zealand 2020/21: West Indies squads

Colin de Grandhomme was originally included in the Test squad, but injury has forced New Zealand to call up all-rounder Daryl Mitchell in his place.

The T20I series begins on November 27, and the Test series on December 3.

New Zealand T20I and Test squads to face West Indies

New Zealand squad for first two T20Is: Tim Southee (c), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor

New Zealand squad for third T20I: Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner (c), Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Scott Kuggeleijn, Mark Chapman, Doug Bracewell

New Zealand Test squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Will Young

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99