The independent voice of cricket

India v Australia 2023

‘KD got saved’ – Rohit angrily gestures, mutters at Kuldeep for not considering review, replay reveals Umpire’s Call

Rohit angry at Kuldeep
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Kuldeep Yadav earned a moment of vindication in the third India-Australia ODI, after replays showed that his turning down a DRS review consideration – which invited the wrath of skipper Rohit Sharma – was actually a prudent call.

In the 25th over of the Australia innings, Alex Carey took guard to face his first ball, with Kuldeep Yadav having sent back David Warner off the previous delivery. Carey tried to prod the ball on the front foot, but did not spot the wrong ‘un, and was rapped on the pad. Substitute wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan – deputising for KL Rahul who was off the field at the time – first slip Rohit Sharma and leg slip Virat Kohli all went up in appeal, as did Kuldeep himself.

Rohit, Kohli and Kishan, in particular, looked eager to go for a review and turned to Kuldeep for consultation. By then, though, the bowler had turned around and was looking to go back to his mark. With seconds left on the DRS timer, Rohit stood aghast, with Kishan and Kohli animatedly waving as well. The three just stood on the pitch. Kuldeep kept ignoring them.


Rohit held his pose, before slowly making his way back to his position. He was visibly annoyed – waving his hands and muttering words towards the bowler, even as replays showed the impact of the ball. The ball-tracking replay hadn’t been displayed yet.

“It’s a good shout,” said Ravi Shastri on commentary. “No wonder, no wonder Rohit has seen it on the replay. And he’s looked at Kuldeep in no uncertain terms”.

“He’s chirping away,” continued Shastri, as cameras showed Rohit still discussing the ball with Kohli.

“It’s amazing that the bowler did not want it. Almost never happens that the bowler is not interested,” said Ajit Agarkar.

As it turned out, Kuldeep was vindicated. Ball-tracking showed that the ball would have gone on to only partly clip the leg stump. It turned out to be Umpire’s Call.

Having seen the replay, Ishan Kishan was heard on the stump mic, saying “KD bach gaya (Kuldeep got saved)”, suggesting how he had been spared some more anger from his skipper.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99