The independent voice of cricket

Bangladesh v Ireland

BAN v IRE, 2023 Test squad: Full team list and team news for Bangladesh v Ireland Test

Shakib Al Hasan appeals for LBW) against Shubman Gill, 2022/23
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Bangladesh will host Ireland for a Test match between April 4 and 8, 2023, at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur. Here are both squads for BAN v IRE Test.

Ireland played their first ever Test match against Pakistan at Malahide in May 2018. They also played Afghanistan at Dehradun in March 2019 and England at Lord’s in July 2019, but are yet to play Test cricket since then.

Despite not being part of the World Test Championship (Ireland are not part of it), this match will, thus, bear significance.


Of Ireland’s 15 members, captain Andy Balbirnie is the only one to have played all three of their Test matches, while George Dockrell, Mark Adair, Andy McBrine, and James McCollum have also played Test cricket.

Former Zimbabwe Test cricketer Peter Moor is also part of the squad, while Josh Little, part of the Gujarat Titans in the IPL, will miss the Test match.

Bangladesh will be led by Shakib Al Hasan, and will feature veterans like Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, and Taijul Islam as well as former captain Mominul Haque. In Litton Das, they boast of one of the finest middle-order batters in contemporary Test cricket.

Bangladesh’s spinners – Shakib, Taijul, Mehidy Hasan Miraz – and experience of playing on subcontinent pitches make them favourites against Ireland.

BAN v IRE, 2023 Test squad: Full team list and team news for Bangladesh v Ireland Test

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Litton Das (wk), Tamim Iqbal, Mominul Haque, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Khaled Ahmed, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hasan Shanto, Shadman Islam, Shoriful Islam.

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (c), Peter Moor (wk), Lorcan Tucker (wk), George Dockrell, Mark Adair, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Curtis Campher, Harry Tector, Murray Commins, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Matthew Humphreys, Ben White.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99