The independent voice of cricket


India-Pakistan combined T20I Team Selector

Team selector: Ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 clash, pick a combined IndiaPakistan T20 XI.

India beat Pakistan in the final to win the first ever World T20 (the T20 World Cup was called that back then), in South Africa in 2007. In 2009, Pakistan won the second edition, in England. Neither team has won the title since then, though India made it to the final in 2014, in Bangladesh.

The teams have clashed six times in the tournament. The first match, in 2007, ended in a tie, but India prevailed in a bowl-out by a 3-0 margin. India then won the final (by five runs), and beat Pakistan again in 2012 (by eight wickets), 2014 (seven wickets), and 2016 (six wickets). However, Pakistan turned the tide in 2021 with a 10-wicket win.

The two teams have met twice since then, at the Asia Cup earlier this year in the UAE. While India won the league match by five wickets, Pakistan clinched the Super Four match by the same margin to pip India for a spot in the final. Outside these tournaments, the teams have met only thrice – in a bilateral series in India that was tied 1-1, and in an Asia Cup 2016 match that India won.

Ahead of the 2022 T20 World Cup, India received a major blow when pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out. He was replaced by Mohammed Shami, who has not played for India in the format since the 2021 edition. Pakistan, too, lost leg-spinner Usman Qadir to an injury – and replaced him with batter Fakhar Zaman.

The teams are set to meet at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on October 23, in the first match of Group 2 of the Super 12. Ahead of the clash, why don’t you pick a combined India-Pakistan XI from the two squads? There are 32 names in all – the two 15-member squads along with Bumrah and Qadir. Remember, your favourite bowler or batter may be in the all-rounder’s section.

Your Selection


                        Your Details

                        Your name:
                        Your e-mail address:
                        Your comments:


                        • Rohit Sharma
                        • Babar Azam
                        • Virat Kohli
                        • Fakhar Zaman
                        • KL Rahul
                        • Shan Masood
                        • Suryakumar Yadav
                        • Iftikhar Ahmed
                        • Deepak Hooda
                        • Asif Ali
                        • Haider Ali
                        • Khushdil Shah


                        • Dinesh Karthik
                        • Mohammad Rizwan
                        • Rishabh Pant


                        • Hardik Pandya
                        • Shadab Khan
                        • R Ashwin
                        • Mohammad Nawaz
                        • Axar Patel
                        • Mohammad Wasim
                        • Harshal Patel


                        • Jasprit Bumrah
                        • Shaheen Shah Afridi
                        • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
                        • Haris Rauf
                        • Yuzvendra Chahal
                        • Mohammad Hasnain
                        • Mohammed Shami
                        • Naseem Shah
                        • Arshdeep Singh
                        • Usman Qadir

                        Become a Wisden member

                        • Exclusive offers and competitions
                        • Money-can’t-buy experiences
                        • Join the Wisden community
                        • Sign up for free
                        LEARN MORE
                        Latest magazine

                        Get the magazine

                        12 Issues for just £39.99