The independent voice of cricket


Team selector: Pick your India T20I XI to face Australia

India ODI XI

Team selector: Pick your India T20I XI to face Australia in 2020/21. Choose your team and share it with your friends.

The BCCI announced a 17-man India squad for their three-match T20I series in Australia – who, according to you, should make it to the final XI?

After much to-and-fro, India are set to tour Australia for a marquee Test and limited-overs series from November 2020 to January 2021. India are set to play four Tests, three T20Is and three ODIs against Australia, in what will be their return to international cricket after the Covid-19 enforced lockdown.

Try another team selector.

There were a few surprising names in the India T20I contingent, with the selectors handing Varun Chakravarthy, the spinner who has impressed for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in IPL 2020 so far this season, a place in the squad.* Sanju Samson, the Kerala wicketkeeper-batsman, was another name that stood out, having been recalled to the T20I side following a few impressive displays for Rajasthan Royals in the IPL.

India Australia T20I

There was no Rishabh Pant in the 17-man India T20I squad that will take on Australia

However, there was no place in the side for Rishabh Pant, the explosive wicketkeeper-batsman, while Rohit Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar missed out due to injuries.

For all the would-be selectors out there, this provides something of a unique opportunity. One of the criticisms India have faced in regards to its batting line-up in T20Is is that it’s filled with too many ‘anchor’ batsmen, those who tend to start slowly. With Rohit now out injured, India will have the opportunity to start with Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul up top, making for a truly explosive combination.

* On November 9, 2020 Varun Chakravarthy was ruled out of the series by the BCCI due to a shoulder injury; T Natarajan has been named as his replacement.

Australia v India T20I, 2020/21: Team Selector


Your Selection


Your Details

Your name:
Your e-mail address:
Your comments:


  • Virat Kohli
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Manish Pandey


  • KL Rahul
  • Sanju Samson


  • Hardik Pandya
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Washington Sundar


  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Navdeep Saini
  • Deepak Chahar
  • T Natarajan

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99